SCHOOL BOARD MEETING September 17, 2018

The Pelican Rapids Board of Education held a regular meeting on September 17, 2018 in the board room at the high school at 6:30 p.m. Board members present: Charlie Blixt, Dena Johnson, Jon Karger Anne Peterson, Kathy Ouren. Board members absent: Mike Forsgren. Others present: Superintendent Randi Anderson, Brian Korf, Dr. Ed Richardson, Derrick Nelson, Rudy Martinez, Mark Masten, Barb Ripley, Cary Haugrud, Jessica Fahje, Heidi Henkes.

The meeting was called to order by Charlie Blixt.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the agenda. The motion was seconded by Jon Karger and carried.

Jon Karger moved to approve the consent agenda consisting of the following items:

Approve board minutes – regular board meeting-August 20, 2018

August bills – Treasurer's report

Accept donations:

To elementary classroom supplies from VFW Post 5252 - \$500

To elementary classroom supplies from Calvary Evangelical Free Church-\$225

Elementary classroom supplies from Faith Church VBS

Personnel:

Approve a medical/child care leave of absence for Lauren Siebels beginning in November for 12 weeks

Hire Christina Jessen as a Head Start special ed para

Hire Emily Evenson as an elementary special ed para

Accept the resignation of Ubah Muhumed as elementary ELL para

Hire Alejandra Villagomez as an elementary ELL para

Hire Kate Martinez and Victoria Stefonowicz as co-asst girls soccer coaches

Accept the resignation of Dacia Johnson as asst. dance coach

Hire Alyssa Berube as asst dance coach

Hire Lisa Petznick as a JH math coach

Hire Denise Evenson as a driver's ed instructor

Hire Bob Kohler as a special ed para

Approve the Collaborative Agreement with WCMSA Head Start for 2018-19

Approve the ECFE Services Agreement with LCSC for 2018-19

Approve Dr. Ed Richardson as LEA representative for Title and School Continuous Improvement

Approve Superintendent goals

Approve the engagement letter with EideBailly for the 2017-18 audit

The motion was seconded by Kathy Ouren and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to move forward with the MSBA Board Self Evaluation. The motion was seconded by Anne Peterson and carried.

Anne Peterson introduced the following resolution and moved its adoption:

RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING DENA JOHNSON TO SERVE ON OTTER TAIL COUNTY ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT RECOMMENDATION COMMITTEE

WHEREAS: The Otter Tail County Board of Commissioners has expressed interest in promoting economic development within the count, AND

WHEREAS: A county may form a county economic development authority or grant a housing and redevelopment authority the powers specified in Minn. Stat. 469.1082, subd. 4, clause (2), if it receives recommendation to do so from a committee formed under subd. 2, AND

WHEREAS: the committee shall consist of no fewer than 11 and no more than 15 members appointed by the county board, AND

WHEREAS: the county board has requested Dena Johnson, Independent School District #548 School Board, participate on the committee, AND

WHEREAS: political subdivision representatives must be selected by their local governments,

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS RESOLVED, that the School Board of Independent School District #548 hereby selects Dena Johnson to represent the Independent School District #548 School Board on the Otter Tail County Economic Development Recommendation Committee in accordance with Minn. Stat. 469.1082.

The motion for the adoption of the foregoing resolution was seconded by Board Member Jon Karger and, after discussion thereof and upon vote being taken thereon, the following voted in favor:

Peterson, Karger, Blixt, Johnson, Ouren

And the following voted against the same:

None

Adopted at Pelican Rapids, Minnesota, September 17, 2018

Charlie Blixt moved to certify the proposed levy for tax year 2019-20 at the maximum amount. The motion was seconded by Dena Johnson and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to approve the 1st and 2nd readings of the following policies:

- 101 Legal Status of the School District
- 101.1 Name of the School District
- 103 Complaints-Students, Employees, Parents, Other Persons
- 104 School District Mission Statement
- 201 Legal Status of the School Board
- 202 School Board Officers

- 203 Operation of the School Board-Governing Rules
- 203.5 School Board Meeting Agenda
- 204 School Board Meeting Agenda
- 205 Open Meeting and Closed Meetings

The motion was seconded by Anne Peterson and carried.

Jon Karger moved to approve the 1st reading of the following policies:

- 203.2 Order of the Regular School Board Meeting
- 412 Expense Reimbursement

The motion was seconded by Anne Peterson and carried.

Charlie Blixt moved to change the regular school board meeting from January 14th to January 7th at 6:30 pm as no meetings are allowed on Martin Luther King, Jr. Day. The motion was seconded by Dena Johnson and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to change the regular school board meeting from February 18th to February 11th at 6:30pm as no meetings are allowed on Presidents' Day. The motion was seconded by Charlie Blixt and carried.

Dena Johnson moved to change the policy committee meetings from January 9th to January 2nd at 5pm and from February 13th to February 6th at 5pm. The motion was seconded by Charlie Blixt and carried.

Jon Karger moved to approve fundraisers and overnight trips for 2018-19 as presented. The motion was seconded by Kathy Ouren and carried.

The meeting was adjourned.	
Charlie Blixt, Chair	Michael Forsgren, Clerk